Session of Elders
The governing body of First Presbyterian Church is the Session. Elders are chosen by the people. Together with ministers of the Word and Sacrament, they exercise leadership, government, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a particular church as well as the church at large, including ecumenical relationships.

The Session of First Presbyterian Church is normally composed of fifteen elders who serve a three-year rotation. Anna Booher serves as Clerk of Session; our current Sr. pastor, Sam Weddington, serves as Moderator.

Class of 2019
Anna Booher, Lee Galliher, Pete Holler, Han Ong, Pete Stigers

Class of 2020

Nancy Allerton, Rebecca Beck, David Hyde, Jordan Pennington, Jerry Poteat

Class of 2021

Ann Abel, Randy Cook, John Graham, Kate McInnis, John Vann

The Diaconate, or Board of Deacons, is another body of officers ministering in the church. It is the duty of deacons, first of all, to minister to those who are in need, to the sick, to the friendless, and to any who may be in distress both within and beyond the community of faith.

The Board of Deacons of First Presbyterian Church is normally composed of fifteen members who serve a three-year rotation.

Class of 2019
George Linke, Greg Roberts, Nate Sproles, Bill Whisnant

Class of 2020
Blake Bassett, Rhonda Comer, Ron Fox, Brenda Lawson, Barb Thompson

Class of 2021

Fred Harkleroad, Matt Kingsley, Lisa McClain, Drew Rice, Joyce Samuel 

Board of Trustees
First Presbyterian Church annually elects one member to its three-person Board of Trustees. These officers represent the congregation in larger capital and property matters, and they function as officers in the corporation for the State of Tennessee. The three current trustees are as follows:

Nancy Cook (2019); Peggy Hill (2020);  Jack Butterworth (2021)